Sketch a day September 15-21- CHARACTER challenge

If you remember, I mentioned I was going to attempt to do a sketch daily challenge for a week during September. Well, the week is here, and so I am going to be posting a little random character that I came up with, one for every day this week. The idea is to come up with a character from your imagination (not drawing from life here) which is supposed to be a useful creative exercise.

Please join along if you would like to (send me an email with your sketch and I’ll post them on the blog too). Remember, these are sketches, not beautiful final art works!! I purposely use my very cheap recycled paper sketchbook that I made myself as this helps me to be less worried about what I am drawing and if its going to be perfect or not. (Notice that the eraser even took away some of the paper on the first page!). They don’t need to take long, quickly doodle something down while you’re waiting for the train, or watching tv etc.

I will be posting all the weeks sketches on this page, and at the end of the week, I’ll post a tutorial on how I made my little hand-bound sketchbook (which has been a huge help in getting me to sketch more often) so you can try it out yourself at home.

Without further ado, here is

DAY ONE- 

daily_sketch_challenge_1001

 a little rabbit frolicking in the sun

DAY TWO-

daily_sketch_challenge_1002

inspired by the red-footed tortoise in this story

DAY THREE

 daily_sketch_3003

saw my first puriri moth of the new season this morning!

DAY FOUR- oops been a bit slack with uploading the last few days sketches….

daily_sketch_challenge_1005

a little kitten after our own kitten Lily- she has a very subtle striped tail in some lights

and runs like a little squirrel whenever she escapes outside (which I wasn’t really able to get in this sketch…)

DAY FIVE-

daily_sketch_challenge_1004

a little dog I saw waiting outside a cafe on my way to work. every time the door opened he tried to get in to find his owner.

DAY SIX-

daily_sketch_challenge_1006

its freezing here so i drew a woolly mammoth for today….

DAY SEVEN-

daily_sketch_challenge_1007

Last day! I drew a rhino because September 22nd is world rhino day #worldrhinoday

That was fun- good practice for Inktober, which is coming up in a couple of weeks! Stay tuned for my next post which will be a tutorial on binding your own mini sketch book!

emma

what do you think?

