NZ Magpie Moth illustrations

Here is another scientific illustration project I am currently working on- illustrations of the NZ Magpie Moth for MSc student Cassandra Marks at the University of Auckland (also from the Holwell lab). I am doing a series of identification-style watercolour illustrations of the male and female moths as well as some views of the caterpillar. Here’s some pics of where I’m up to- also I made a gif of the watercolour process!

my desk at the moment
my desk at the moment

 

female_magpiemoth_webver_sig

 

And the final- this is the female Magpie Moth:

female_magpiemoth_webver
Copyright E.Scheltema 2014- please do not copy without permission

I used Winsor and Newton Cotman watercolour paints, mixing the black for the wings from Ultramarine and Burnt Sienna, but found I had to pump up the darkness of it by using some pure black for the darkest areas.

Thanks to Cassie for letting me post these in the middle of the project!

emma

what do you think?

