botanical pen and ink

I used to avoid pen and ink and be really disappointed with anything I tried to do with it. Now that I’ve done more practice with it through my classes, I am growing to love it! I decided to do a pen and ink plate illustration of the Puriri Tree (Vitex lucens). It was completed on detail paper (my new favourite for pen and ink) with a hunt 102 nib and 0.5mm pigma micron.

botanical-in-progress puriri-plate-actual

Another really useful resource that I discovered for Pen and Ink rendering is the book ‘Rendering in Pen and Ink‘ by Arthur L Guptill- which according to Amazon.com is the most comprehensive book ever published on the subject of ink drawing. It definitely has a lot of detailed info in it- I’ve added it to my Resources page!

Hope you have a great day!

emma

p.s I am slowly moving all my finished illustrations onto my new portfolio website- http://www.emmascheltema.com . Its still a work in progress, but eventually I will link this up to the portfolio on the blog. Please follow me if you have tumblr!

portfolio website image

2 thoughts on “botanical pen and ink”

what do you think?

