new year- new post

Dear readers,

This is the first post of the new year- and its already the start of February! How did that happen?

happy2014pic

I have a lot of plans for this little blog for the next year, so I just thought I’d let you know about some of them.

Its been almost a year since I started up Drawing Escape, and I feel like while I’ve learnt a lot, I still have a fair way to go in getting this blog-thing running right- especially in getting regular (interesting) posts out. This means that I am going to decrease the wordy-ness of a lot of the posts I write- and post more visuals of work I (hopefully) do with all that saved time ;). I have also started an instagram account that I am going to try and post on as much as possible. The wordy posts will be limited to once a fortnight or so and will include a few new things:

  • interviews with inspiring professional illustrators, and people who have combined professional science careers with art
  • tutorials and product reviews
  • giveaways (I am hoping to do a least a few this year)
  • focussed articles– next week I’ll be starting a series of articles on ‘finding motivation to get work done’ which is something I personally struggle with sometimes (um, pinterest obsession?), and is my personal goal to get more work done this year! Hopefully something in there might be helpful to someone.

In addition, I am hoping to get more of a focus on scientific and natural history illustration, because that is why I initially started this site. I’m currently doing a graduate course in scientific illustration and will be showing more of my work from there on here.

My personal goal for this year:

committing001
written with my new Kuretake no.8 fountain brush pen!

As Goethe said- “Until one is committed there is the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative and creation, there is one elementary truth – the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself then providence moves too.”

To not feel bad about spending time doing what I love- drawing and art, and getting more work done as a result!

Here’s to an exciting year ahead!

Q: do you have any favourite quotes or goals for the coming year? Share them for everyone below.

1 thought on “new year- new post”

what do you think?

