gannet greetings

Hi everyone,

I hope you are enjoying the festive season! Today I thought I would finally get back to posting some other illustration projects I’ve been working on. I mentioned before that I volunteer at a local bird rescue charity. Recently I was asked by them to do an illustration for a ‘Thank you’ greeting card. I came up with a few ideas, but the one I liked the most was of two gannets greeting one another. Gannets (in New Zealand the most common gannet is the Australasian gannet, Morus serrator) engage in a behaviour called bill fencing, which is a sort of greeting display. If you haven’t seen them before they also have a very cool behaviour- a torpedo-like dive- that they do from mid air to catch fish underwater (see a video of that here <– after watching this you’ll see why they need such flippery feet!).I thought the gannet greeting was quite a nice idea for the card.

Here is the final artwork, done in acrylics, with a watercolour wash background (is it really bad to mix the two mediums??- I never have before and was sort of expecting it to be a disaster!) on Fabriano watercolour paper.

gannet-card-final

and then put together all the design elements in photoshop, including a hand-lettered ‘thank you’:

final-thankyou-gannet-card-cmyk

It was a great project to work on. If anyone is interested I am thinking of doing a tutorial on how I made the vectorised signature at the bottom corner. Its so useful to be able to add your signature digitally after scanning in artwork!

Until next time,

emma

what do you think?

