free flight completed+ process

my latest wildlife painting is now completed! p.s the species is a light-mantled sooty albatross (Phoebetria palpebrata), inspired by one that was rescued by the bird rescue centre I volunteer at.

final-albatross-paintingweb

free flight, acrylics on hardboard, 56x70cm

This was my first large acrylic painting on board (I used hardboard, aka masonite and prepped it myself), and also the first painting I have entered into a competition. I used a limited palette of browns and blues (burnt sienna, burnt umber, ultramarine blue, phthalo blue, and white) which was quite a fun experiment.

I gave myself the goal of entering this painting into a local art competition, just so I would have a goal to work towards and to give myself a push to try out a large painting. While I wasn’t entirely happy with how the painting turned out, I did manage finish it on time (via a lot of late nights!), and learnt a lot about painting on a larger scale as well as the handling of acrylics on board (a bit different to on paper!).
I also can’t wait to have another go at painting a proper seascape after having spent hours trying to perfect the background ocean in this painting!

Here is a animation I made of some in process photos:

gif-image-process

The exhibition of the Trusts Art Awards will be opening this Thursday night at 6pm at Corban Estate Arts Centre. It will be a great show, from what I saw of some of the amazing artworks being delivered when I dropped my albatross painting off! If you are in the area and would like to come along, its open until the 13th October, more details here.

hope you are having a great start to the week!

emma

what do you think?

