an old favourite

Just some things I’ve been working on lately…

This is the beginnings of a portrait of Sam (the german shephard x) and Tiddles (tabby cat) both pets of our family who have passed on a while ago. The image I am working from is of when Tiddles was a little kitten and had just joined us, and you can see he’s a little scared of Sam!

I have attempted this portrait before (on green coloured card) but was not very happy with the result (I cannot find the picture anywhere- will try to post it when as a comparison when I have finished this one).

So, now I’m trying it again. This time will be the first I have used acrylic paints as a background to a coloured pencil drawing, so will be interesting to see how it works. Heres where I’m up to (still very unfinished!):

sam-and-tiddles_1

This is my first time using a Canson C A grain paper, which as far as I know is not readily available in NZ- I got it on my recent trip to Melbourne. I think my favourite paper is still Fabriano 5 grain…

Then for something a bit different, I have been reading Danny Gregory’s book, ‘An illustrated life’- which is such a great book! I have decided to try and keep a journal of my own (+stick at it!). Here is my first page, which I did after a day of volunteering at a bird rehab centre. Its pretty terrible drawing, but hopefully its just a matter of practice!

sketchbook_1

On the theme of sketchbooks, here is a lovely video to watch if you have time (which was posted on Laura Wood Illustration). Its about Renata Liwska a childrens book illustrator, and how she got into childrens book illustration. Very inspiring stuff! Makes me want to get a moleskine too!

A Quiet Look – How to become a children’s book illustrator in one (not so easy) step from mike kerr on Vimeo.

Well, thats all I have for now! I hope you have a great weekend!

emma

what do you think?

